Treatment of heavy bleeding disorders by sclerosing the uterine lining (NovaSure method)

GYN & PERINATAL ZURICH > Treatment of heavy bleeding disorders by sclerotherapy of the endometrium (NovaSure method)

Heavy menstrual bleeding (menorrhagia, hypermenorrhea) is a common problem in women, especially after childbirth or after the age of 40. This excessive bleeding can lead to missed work and a feeling of weakness. Although hormone treatments or hormonal IUDs exist to regulate bleeding, some patients are skeptical about these options.

For women who have completed family planning and suffer from bleeding disorders or wish to be free of bleeding, sclerotherapy of the uterine lining is a solution.

Impedance-guided endometrial ablation is a minimally invasive procedure. Under short anesthesia, a thin gold mesh is inserted into the uterine cavity, which adapts to its shape. The mucous membrane causing the bleeding is cauterized by heat while it lies tightly against the mesh. After sclerotherapy, the mesh is removed.

As a result, menstrual periods either stop altogether or become significantly weaker.

The procedure is performed on an outpatient basis as part of a hysteroscopy. Patients are usually able to return to work the very next day. This treatment is covered by health insurance.

Bipolar rediofrequency energy

"NovaSure® offers a modern, fast solution for the treatment of heavy menstrual bleeding. The procedure uses a bipolar grid electrode that constantly monitors tissue resistance during treatment.

Ablation ends automatically as soon as the resistance reaches 50 ohms or the treatment time of 2 minutes is exceeded. Thanks to impedance control and a mesh electrode that can be adjusted to the size of the uterus, NovaSure® enables precise control of the ablation depth, regardless of the thickness of the uterine lining.

First Children's Runway Congress at THE CIRCLE at Zurich Airport (May 25, 2024)

March 1, 2024

The new "Kinderstartbahn" platform brings together experts from pediatrics and related fields with the common goal of giving children the best possible start in life. Dates: Saturday, May 25, 2024 Location: Circle Convention Center at Zurich Airport. Expert audience and continuing education points Around...

Read more

Grisons women become mothers late

January 30, 2024

Even 50 years ago, Swiss women were older than the European average when their first child was born. However, there are also differences between the cantons. Text: Romina Kranz (Editor, Südostschweiz, January 30, 2024) In the last 50...

Read more

Iron deficiency due to menstruation

January 20, 2024

Dr. med. Lydia Unger-Hunt conducts the interview with Prof. Dr. med. Christian Breymann, gynaecologist from Zurich, and general practitioner Dr. med. Urs Hürlimann, general practitioner from Hünenberg. The interview focuses on the roles of gynecologists and general practitioners in...

Read more

Behandlung von starken Blutungsstörungen durch Verödung der Gebärmutterschleimhaut (NovaSure-Methode)

GYN & PERINATAL ZÜRICH > Behandlung von starken Blutungsstörungen durch Verödung der Gebärmutterschleimhaut (NovaSure-Methode)

Starke Menstruationsblutungen (Menorrhagie, Hypermenorrhoe) sind ein häufiges Problem bei Frauen, besonders nach Geburten oder nach dem 40. Lebensjahr. Diese übermässigen Blutungen können zu Arbeitsausfällen und einem Gefühl der Schwäche führen. Obwohl Hormonbehandlungen oder Hormonspiralen zur Regulierung der Blutung existieren, stehen einige Patientinnen diesen Optionen skeptisch gegenüber.

Für Frauen mit abgeschlossener Familienplanung, die unter Blutungsstörungen leiden oder Blutungsfreiheit wünschen, bietet sich die Verödung der Gebärmutterschleimhaut als Lösung an.

Die Impedanz-gesteuerte Endometriumablation ist ein minimalinvasiver Eingriff. Unter Kurznarkose wird ein dünnes Gold-Netz in die Gebärmutterhöhle eingebracht, das sich an deren Form anpasst. Die blutungsverursachende Schleimhaut wird durch Hitze verödet, während sie eng an das Netz anliegt. Nach der Verödung wird das Netz entfernt.

Als Ergebnis bleiben die Regelblutungen entweder ganz aus oder werden deutlich schwächer.

Der Eingriff erfolgt ambulant im Rahmen einer Gebärmutterspiegelung. Patientinnen sind in der Regel bereits am nächsten Tag wieder arbeitsfähig. Diese Behandlung wird von der Krankenkasse übernommen.

Bipolare Rediofrequenz Energie

«NovaSure® bietet eine moderne, schnelle Lösung zur Behandlung starker Menstruationsblutungen. Das Verfahren nutzt eine bipolare Netzelektrode, die den Gewebewiderstand während der Behandlung ständig überwacht.

Die Ablation endet automatisch, sobald der Widerstand 50 Ohm erreicht oder die Behandlungszeit von 2 Minuten überschritten wird. Dank der Impedanzsteuerung und einer an die Grösse des Uterus anpassbaren Netzelektrode ermöglicht NovaSure® eine präzise Kontrolle der Ablationstiefe, unabhängig von der Dicke der Gebärmutterschleimhaut.

Ultraschall per Smartphone

8. Mai 2024

Bei einer Ultraschalluntersuchung werden hochfrequente Schallwellen durch den Körper gesendet, die von Geweben und Organen als Echos reflektiert werden. Die Schallwellleistung von Ultraschallgeräten, die in der Geburtshilfe eingesetzt werden, ist so gering, dass sie weder kurz- noch langfristige Schäden bei…

Mehr lesen

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden

16. April 2024

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden (Prof. Breymann kommentiert NZZ-Artikel vom 8. April 2024) Es wird Zeit, dass man das Thema Longevity mit all seinen teilweise obskuren Entwicklungen seriös diskutiert und angeht («Ewiges gesundes Leben ist ein falsches Versprechen», NZZ 8. April…

Mehr lesen

Perinatale Stammzellforschung: Prof. Breymann im Gespräch bei Famido.ch

20. März 2024

In dieser Episode geht es um die faszinierende Welt der Stammzelllagerung aus Plazenta und Nabelschnur. Prof. Breymann, ein anerkannter Experte auf dem Gebiet der perinatalen Stammzellforschung und Schwangerschaft, diskutiert mit Frau Isabell Ziegler von famido.ch die Schlüsselaspekte dieses Themas. Dabei…

Mehr lesen