Vaginal laser therapy for incontinence, especially after multiple births

GYN & PERINATAL ZURICH > Vaginal laser therapy for incontinence, especially after multiple births

Many women have bladder weakness (urinary incontinence) after giving birth. As a result, involuntary leakage of urine may occur when coughing, sneezing or running and jumping fast. There is a genetic predisposition to bladder weakness, so it is more common in some families than others. Women who are over 35 years old when they become pregnant for the first time also have an increased risk of developing bladder weakness. The symptoms often occur during pregnancy, when more and more weight is placed on the pelvic floor muscles and the bladder.

Bladder weakness (urinary incontinence) is divided into 3 degrees of severity:

  • If urine leakage occurs when laughing, sneezing or coughing, this is called grade 1. This is the lightest form of stress incontinence.
  • In grade 2, urine leakage occurs when walking, exercising, climbing stairs or lifting heavy objects.
  • In the most severe form of stress incontinence (grade 3), involuntary urine leakage occurs even when lying down.

Younger women and mothers are also affected

For a long time, female urinary incontinence was considered more of an old-age problem. We know from practical experience that urinary incontinence is not uncommon among younger women either. But like older women, younger women hardly ever mention the problem to their gynaecologists.

Anna-Maria Ferchichi talks openly about her experience with bladder weakness on Instagram

The happy mother Anna-Maria Ferchichi (wife of rapper Bushido) gives an unvarnished account of the consequences of her multiple births in the media(Instagram, 20.minuten). The 40-year-old is a mother of eight: twins, triplets, plus 3 single babies. But the births left their mark. Since giving birth, she has suffered from incontinence. Now Anna-Maria Ferchichi is counteracting the symptoms with a vaginal laser therapy. It not only has an effect on going to the toilet, but also has a positive impact on the couple's sex life.

Vaginal laser therapy

Several clinical studies have tested and confirmed the effectiveness and safety of the laser procedure. Laser pulses are delivered to the surrounding tissue via a special probe inserted into the vagina.

The impulses stimulate the formation of new cells as well as the body's own production of collagen and elastic fibres. This not only has a positive influence on the firmness and elasticity of the connective tissue, but MonaLisa Touch® also leads to increased vascularisation (formation of new vessels) and supports the moisturisation of the area.

Perinatal stem cell research: Prof. Breymann in conversation with Famido.ch

March 20, 2024

This episode is about the fascinating world of stem cell storage from the placenta and umbilical cord. Prof. Breymann, a recognized expert in the field of perinatal stem cell research and pregnancy, discusses the key aspects of this topic with Ms. Isabell Ziegler from famido.ch. In doing so...

Read more

First Children's Runway Congress at THE CIRCLE at Zurich Airport (May 25, 2024)

March 1, 2024

The new "Kinderstartbahn" platform brings together experts from pediatrics and related fields with the common goal of giving children the best possible start in life. Dates: Saturday, May 25, 2024 Location: Circle Convention Center at Zurich Airport. Expert audience and continuing education points Around...

Read more

Grisons women become mothers late

January 30, 2024

Even 50 years ago, Swiss women were older than the European average when their first child was born. However, there are also differences between the cantons. Text: Romina Kranz (Editor, Südostschweiz, January 30, 2024) In the last 50...

Read more

Vaginale Lasertherapie bei Inkontinenz, insbesondere nach Mehrfachgeburten

GYN & PERINATAL ZÜRICH > Vaginale Lasertherapie bei Inkontinenz, insbesondere nach Mehrfachgeburten

Viele Frauen haben nach der Geburt eine Blasenschwäche (Harninkontinenz). In der Folge kann es beim Husten, Niesen oder schnellen Laufen und Hüpfen zu einem unfreiwilligen Urinabgang kommen. Es gibt eine genetische Veranlagung zu Blasenschwäche, daher kommt sie in manchen Familien häufiger vor als in anderen. Auch Frauen, die bei der ersten Schwangerschaft über 35 Jahre alt sind, haben ein erhöhtes Risiko, eine Blasenschwäche zu entwickeln. Oft treten die Beschwerden bereits in der Schwangerschaft auf, wenn immer mehr Gewicht auf der Beckenboden-Muskulatur und der Blase lastet.

Blasenschwäche (Harninkontinenz) wird in 3 Schweregrade eingeteilt:

  • Kommt es beim Lachen, Niesen oder Husten zum Abgang von Urin, spricht man von einem Grad 1. Dies ist die leichteste Form der Belastungsinkontinenz.
  • Beim Grad 2 kommt es zum Urinverlust beim Gehen, Sport treiben, Treppensteigen oder Heben schwerer Gegenstände.
  • Bei der schwersten Form der Belastungsinkontinenz (Grad 3) tritt der unwillkürliche Urinabgang auch im Liegen auf.

Auch jüngeren Frauen und Mütter sind betroffen

Lange galt die weibliche Harninkontinenz eher als ein Problem des Alters. Aus der Praxis wissen wir, Harninkontinenz ist auch bei jüngeren Frauen nicht selten. Aber wie die älteren, so sprechen auch die jüngeren das Problem den Frauenärzten gegenüber kaum an.

Anna-Maria Ferchichi berichtet auf Instagram offen über Erfahrungen mit Blasenschwäche

Die glückliche Mutter Anna-Maria Ferchichi (Frau von Rapper Bushido) berichtet in den Medien (Instagram, 20.minuten) ungeschönt von den Folgen ihrer Mehrfachgeburten. Die 40-jährige ist achtfache Mutter: Zwillinge, Drillinge, plus 3 single Babies. Doch die Geburten hinterliessen Spuren. Seit der Entbindung leidet sie unter Inkontinenz. Nun wirkt Anna-Maria Ferchichi den Beschwerden mit einer vaginalen Lasertherapie entgegen. Sie zeigt nicht nur beim Toilettengang Wirkung, sondern wirkt sich auch positiv aufs Sexleben des Ehepaars aus.

Vaginale Lasertherapie

In mehreren klinischen Studien wurden die Wirksamkeit und die Sicherheit des Laserverfahrens getestet und bestätigt. Über eine spezielle Sonde, die in die Vagina eingeführt wird, werden Laserimpulse an das umliegende Gewebe abgegeben.

Die Impulse regen die Zellneubildung sowie die körpereigene Produktion kollagener und elastischer Fasern an. Dadurch wird nicht nur ein positiver Einfluss auf die Straffheit und die Elastizität des Bindegewebes genommen, sondern MonaLisa Touch® führt auch zu einer erhöhten Vaskularisierung (Neubildung von Gefässen) und unterstützt die Feuchtigkeitsversorgung des Areals.

Cholestase während der Schwangerschaft (Gentik)

20. April 2023

Die intrahepatische Cholestase der Schwangerschaft (ICP) oder Schwangerschaftscholestase ist eine Lebererkrankung, die bei einigen Frauen in der Spätschwangerschaft auftritt. Sie äussert sich durch starken Juckreiz, jedoch ohne sichtbaren Hautausschlag. ICP kann bei Schwangeren zu einer vorübergehenden Abnahme der Leberfunktion führen,…

Mehr lesen

Pharmakogenetik und individueller Medikamentenmetabolismus in der Schwangerschaft

15. April 2023

In den ersten drei Monaten der Schwangerschaft nehmen etwa 80% der Frauen mindestens ein Medikament ein. Fast 30% der werdenden Mütter konsumieren in diesem Zeitraum vier oder mehr Medikamente, sowohl verschreibungspflichtige als auch rezeptfreie (ohne Berücksichtigung von Vitaminen oder Eisen).…

Mehr lesen

Kinderwunsch bei Störung des Folsäure-Stoffwechsels: Genetik (MTHFR)

10. April 2023

Ein gesundes Leben beginnt bereits mit der Entwicklung im Mutterleib. In der Schweiz leiden jedes Jahr etwa 50 bis 60 Kinder oder Embryonen in den ersten Schwangerschaftswochen an einer schweren Rückenmarkfehlbildung, bekannt als «offener Rücken» oder «Spina bifida». Folsäure, ein…

Mehr lesen