News and things to know

Pregnancy and Birth

Ultrasound via smartphone

May 8, 2024

During an ultrasound examination, high-frequency sound waves are sent through the body, which are reflected by tissues and organs as echoes. The sound wave power of ultrasound devices used in obstetrics is...

Read more

Perinatal stem cell research: Prof. Breymann in conversation with Famido.ch

March 20, 2024

This episode is about the fascinating world of stem cell storage from the placenta and umbilical cord. Prof. Breymann, a recognized expert in the field of perinatal stem cell research and pregnancy, discusses with...

Read more

First Children's Runway Congress at THE CIRCLE at Zurich Airport (May 25, 2024)

March 1, 2024

The new "Kinderstartbahn" platform brings together experts from pediatrics and related fields with the common goal of giving children the best possible start in life. Dates: Saturday, May 25, 2024 Location: Circle Convention...

Read more

Desire to have children

Ultrasound via smartphone

May 8, 2024

During an ultrasound examination, high-frequency sound waves are sent through the body, which are reflected by tissues and organs as echoes. The sound wave power of ultrasound devices used in obstetrics is so low that they do not cause any short or long-term damage to the body.

Read more

First Children's Runway Congress at THE CIRCLE at Zurich Airport (May 25, 2024)

March 1, 2024

The new "Kinderstartbahn" platform brings together experts from pediatrics and related fields with the common goal of giving children the best possible start in life. Dates: Saturday, May 25, 2024 Location: Circle Convention Center at Zurich Airport. Expert audience and continuing education points Around...

Read more

Grisons women become mothers late

January 30, 2024

Even 50 years ago, Swiss women were older than the European average when their first child was born. However, there are also differences between the cantons. Text: Romina Kranz (Editor, Südostschweiz, January 30, 2024) In the last 50...

Read more

Application potential and current clinical applications of stem cells from umbilical cord and placenta

November 7, 2023

Webinar November 7, 2022, 17:30 - 18:30 CEST Speakers:

Read more

Cholestasis during pregnancy (Gentics)

April 20, 2023

Intrahepatic cholestasis of pregnancy (ICP) or pregnancy cholestasis is a liver disease that occurs in some women in late pregnancy. It manifests as severe itching, but without a visible rash. ICP can cause a temporary decrease in liver function in pregnant women,...

Read more

Pharmacogenetics and individual drug metabolism in pregnancy.

April 15, 2023

During the first three months of pregnancy, about 80% of women take at least one medication. Nearly 30% of expectant mothers consume four or more medications during this period, both prescription and over-the-counter (not including vitamins or iron)....

Read more

Iron Centre

Older age and well-being

April 16, 2024

Older age and well-being (Prof. Breymann comments on NZZ article from April 8, 2024) It is time that the topic of longevity, with all its sometimes obscure developments, was discussed and addressed seriously ("Eternal healthy life is a false promise", NZZ April 8,...

Read more

Iron deficiency due to menstruation

January 20, 2024

Dr. med. Lydia Unger-Hunt conducts the interview with Prof. Dr. med. Christian Breymann, gynaecologist from Zurich, and general practitioner Dr. med. Urs Hürlimann, general practitioner from Hünenberg. The interview focuses on the roles of gynecologists and general practitioners in...

Read more

Treatment of heavy bleeding disorders by sclerosing the uterine lining (NovaSure method)

November 20, 2023

Heavy menstrual bleeding (menorrhagia, hypermenorrhea) is a common problem in women, especially after childbirth or after the age of 40. This excessive bleeding can lead to missed work and a feeling of weakness. Although hormone treatments or hormonal IUDs exist to regulate bleeding, there are...

Read more

Prevention and healthy ageing

Older age and well-being

April 16, 2024

Older age and well-being (Prof. Breymann comments on NZZ article from April 8, 2024) It is time that the topic of longevity, with all its sometimes obscure developments, was discussed and addressed seriously ("Eternal healthy life is a false promise", NZZ April 8,...

Read more

Treatment of heavy bleeding disorders by sclerosing the uterine lining (NovaSure method)

November 20, 2023

Heavy menstrual bleeding (menorrhagia, hypermenorrhea) is a common problem in women, especially after childbirth or after the age of 40. This excessive bleeding can lead to missed work and a feeling of weakness. Although hormone treatments or hormonal IUDs exist to regulate bleeding, there are...

Read more

Menopause and other symptoms of hormonal imbalances: Prof. Breymann in a podcast with Tine Hertz and One Thirty Labs from Copenhagen

November 6, 2023

The increase in life expectancy over the last century has had a significant impact on women's lives. Delayed childcare has led to fertility-related problems, and women now spend a greater proportion of their lives post-menopause,...

Read more

Neuigkeiten und Wissenswertes

Schwangerschaft und Geburt

Ultraschall per Smartphone

8. Mai 2024

Bei einer Ultraschalluntersuchung werden hochfrequente Schallwellen durch den Körper gesendet, die von Geweben und Organen als Echos reflektiert werden. Die Schallwellleistung von Ultraschallgeräten, die in der Geburtshilfe eingesetzt werden, ist…

Mehr lesen

Perinatale Stammzellforschung: Prof. Breymann im Gespräch bei Famido.ch

20. März 2024

In dieser Episode geht es um die faszinierende Welt der Stammzelllagerung aus Plazenta und Nabelschnur. Prof. Breymann, ein anerkannter Experte auf dem Gebiet der perinatalen Stammzellforschung und Schwangerschaft, diskutiert mit…

Mehr lesen

Erster Kinderstartbahn-Kongress im THE CIRCLE am Flughafen Zürich (25. Mai 2024)

1. März 2024

Die neue Plattform „Kinderstartbahn“ vereint Experten aus der Pädiatrie und angrenzenden Fachgebieten, mit dem gemeinsamen Ziel, Kindern den bestmöglichen Lebensbeginn zu ermöglichen. Termine: Samstag, 25. Mai 2024 Location: Circle Convention…

Mehr lesen

Kinderwunsch

Ultraschall per Smartphone

8. Mai 2024

Bei einer Ultraschalluntersuchung werden hochfrequente Schallwellen durch den Körper gesendet, die von Geweben und Organen als Echos reflektiert werden. Die Schallwellleistung von Ultraschallgeräten, die in der Geburtshilfe eingesetzt werden, ist so gering, dass sie weder kurz- noch langfristige Schäden bei…

Mehr lesen

Erster Kinderstartbahn-Kongress im THE CIRCLE am Flughafen Zürich (25. Mai 2024)

1. März 2024

Die neue Plattform „Kinderstartbahn“ vereint Experten aus der Pädiatrie und angrenzenden Fachgebieten, mit dem gemeinsamen Ziel, Kindern den bestmöglichen Lebensbeginn zu ermöglichen. Termine: Samstag, 25. Mai 2024 Location: Circle Convention Centre am Flughafen Zürich. Fachpublikum und Fortbildungspunkte Es werden rund…

Mehr lesen

Bündnerinnen werden erst spät Mutter

30. Januar 2024

Die Schweizerinnen waren bei der Geburt des ersten Kindes schon vor 50 Jahren im Europavergleich älter als der Durchschnitt. Unterschiede gibt es aber auch im kantonalen Vergleich. Text: Romina Kranz (Redaktorin, Südostschweiz vom 30. Januar 2024) In den letzten 50…

Mehr lesen

Anwendungspotenzial und aktuelle klinische Anwendungen von Stammzellen aus Nabelschnur und Plazenta

7. November 2023

Webinar 7. November 2022, 17:30 – 18:30 CEST Vortragende:

Mehr lesen

Cholestase während der Schwangerschaft (Gentik)

20. April 2023

Die intrahepatische Cholestase der Schwangerschaft (ICP) oder Schwangerschaftscholestase ist eine Lebererkrankung, die bei einigen Frauen in der Spätschwangerschaft auftritt. Sie äussert sich durch starken Juckreiz, jedoch ohne sichtbaren Hautausschlag. ICP kann bei Schwangeren zu einer vorübergehenden Abnahme der Leberfunktion führen,…

Mehr lesen

Pharmakogenetik und individueller Medikamentenmetabolismus in der Schwangerschaft

15. April 2023

In den ersten drei Monaten der Schwangerschaft nehmen etwa 80% der Frauen mindestens ein Medikament ein. Fast 30% der werdenden Mütter konsumieren in diesem Zeitraum vier oder mehr Medikamente, sowohl verschreibungspflichtige als auch rezeptfreie (ohne Berücksichtigung von Vitaminen oder Eisen).…

Mehr lesen

Eisenzentrum

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden

16. April 2024

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden (Prof. Breymann kommentiert NZZ-Artikel vom 8. April 2024) Es wird Zeit, dass man das Thema Longevity mit all seinen teilweise obskuren Entwicklungen seriös diskutiert und angeht («Ewiges gesundes Leben ist ein falsches Versprechen», NZZ 8. April…

Mehr lesen

Eisenmangel durch die Regelblutung

20. Januar 2024

Frau Dr. med. Lydia Unger-Hunt führt das Interview mit Prof. Dr. med. Christian Breymann, Gynäkologen aus Zürich, und dem Allgemeinmediziner Dr. med. Urs Hürlimann, Allgemeinmediziner aus Hünenberg. Im Fokus des Gesprächs stehen die Rollen von Gynäkolog:innen und Hausärzt:innen bei der…

Mehr lesen

Behandlung von starken Blutungsstörungen durch Verödung der Gebärmutterschleimhaut (NovaSure-Methode)

20. November 2023

Starke Menstruationsblutungen (Menorrhagie, Hypermenorrhoe) sind ein häufiges Problem bei Frauen, besonders nach Geburten oder nach dem 40. Lebensjahr. Diese übermässigen Blutungen können zu Arbeitsausfällen und einem Gefühl der Schwäche führen. Obwohl Hormonbehandlungen oder Hormonspiralen zur Regulierung der Blutung existieren, stehen…

Mehr lesen

Prävention und gesundes Altern

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden

16. April 2024

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden (Prof. Breymann kommentiert NZZ-Artikel vom 8. April 2024) Es wird Zeit, dass man das Thema Longevity mit all seinen teilweise obskuren Entwicklungen seriös diskutiert und angeht («Ewiges gesundes Leben ist ein falsches Versprechen», NZZ 8. April…

Mehr lesen

Behandlung von starken Blutungsstörungen durch Verödung der Gebärmutterschleimhaut (NovaSure-Methode)

20. November 2023

Starke Menstruationsblutungen (Menorrhagie, Hypermenorrhoe) sind ein häufiges Problem bei Frauen, besonders nach Geburten oder nach dem 40. Lebensjahr. Diese übermässigen Blutungen können zu Arbeitsausfällen und einem Gefühl der Schwäche führen. Obwohl Hormonbehandlungen oder Hormonspiralen zur Regulierung der Blutung existieren, stehen…

Mehr lesen

Menopause und andere Symptome hormoneller Ungleichgewichte: Prof. Breymann im Podcast mit Tine Hertz und One Thirty Labs aus Kopenhagen

6. November 2023

Der Anstieg der Lebenserwartung im letzten Jahrhundert hat bedeutende Auswirkungen auf das Leben von Frauen gehabt. Die verzögerte Kinderbetreuung hat zu Problemen im Zusammenhang mit der Fruchtbarkeit geführt, und Frauen verbringen nun einen grösseren Teil ihres Lebens nach der Menopause,…

Mehr lesen