Childbearing in coagulation disorders: Genetics (F2 and F5)

GYN & PERINATAL ZURICH > Childbearing in coagulation disorders: Genetics (F2 and F5)

Congenital clotting disorders can be identified by changes in certain genes that affect blood clotting. These genetic mutations can increase the risk of thrombosis during pregnancy.

The most common hereditary thrombophilias are factor V Leiden and factor II (prothrombin), affecting between 3% and 11% of the population.

Individuals with a genetic predisposition to these clotting disorders may be at increased risk for developing deep vein thrombosis during pregnancy due to the increase in estrogens. In addition, such mutations may lead to an increased risk of recurrent miscarriage and pregnancy complications.

A predisposition to thrombophilia due to genetic factors can be determined by testing the genes involved in the blood clotting process (factor II, factor V). The mutations detected are subsequently analyzed.

Depending on the results, a close monitoring program or preventive measures, such as administration of low-dose aspirin, may be initiated.

Genes studied: F2, F5

Perinatal stem cell research: Prof. Breymann in conversation with Famido.ch

March 20, 2024

This episode is about the fascinating world of stem cell storage from the placenta and umbilical cord. Prof. Breymann, a recognized expert in the field of perinatal stem cell research and pregnancy, discusses the key aspects of this topic with Ms. Isabell Ziegler from famido.ch. In doing so...

Read more

First Children's Runway Congress at THE CIRCLE at Zurich Airport (May 25, 2024)

March 1, 2024

The new "Kinderstartbahn" platform brings together experts from pediatrics and related fields with the common goal of giving children the best possible start in life. Dates: Saturday, May 25, 2024 Location: Circle Convention Center at Zurich Airport. Expert audience and continuing education points Around...

Read more

Grisons women become mothers late

January 30, 2024

Even 50 years ago, Swiss women were older than the European average when their first child was born. However, there are also differences between the cantons. Text: Romina Kranz (Editor, Südostschweiz, January 30, 2024) In the last 50...

Read more

Kinderwunsch bei Gerinnungsstörungen: Genetik (F2 und F5)

GYN & PERINATAL ZÜRICH > Kinderwunsch bei Gerinnungsstörungen: Genetik (F2 und F5)

Angeborene Gerinnungsstörungen können durch Veränderungen in bestimmten Genen identifiziert werden, die die Blutgerinnung beeinträchtigen. Diese genetischen Mutationen können das Risiko einer Thrombose während der Schwangerschaft erhöhen.

Die am häufigsten auftretenden erblichen Thrombophilien sind Faktor V Leiden und Faktor II (Prothrombin), von denen zwischen 3 und 11 % der Bevölkerung betroffen sind.

Personen mit einer genetischen Veranlagung für diese Gerinnungsstörungen können während der Schwangerschaft aufgrund des Anstiegs von Östrogenen ein erhöhtes Risiko für die Entwicklung einer tiefen Venenthrombose haben. Zusätzlich können solche Mutationen zu einem gesteigerten Risiko für wiederkehrende Fehlgeburten und Schwangerschaftskomplikationen führen.

Eine Prädisposition für Thrombophilie aufgrund von genetischen Faktoren kann durch Untersuchungen der am Blutgerinnungsprozess beteiligten Gene (Faktor II, Faktor V) ermittelt werden. Die festgestellten Mutationen werden anschliessend analysiert.

Abhängig von den Ergebnissen kann ein engmaschiges Überwachungsprogramm oder präventive Massnahmen, wie zum Beispiel die Verabreichung von niedrig dosiertem Aspirin, eingeleitet werden.

Untersuchte Gene: F2, F5

Ultraschall per Smartphone

8. Mai 2024

Bei einer Ultraschalluntersuchung werden hochfrequente Schallwellen durch den Körper gesendet, die von Geweben und Organen als Echos reflektiert werden. Die Schallwellleistung von Ultraschallgeräten, die in der Geburtshilfe eingesetzt werden, ist so gering, dass sie weder kurz- noch langfristige Schäden bei…

Mehr lesen

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden

16. April 2024

Höheres Alter samt Wohlbefinden (Prof. Breymann kommentiert NZZ-Artikel vom 8. April 2024) Es wird Zeit, dass man das Thema Longevity mit all seinen teilweise obskuren Entwicklungen seriös diskutiert und angeht («Ewiges gesundes Leben ist ein falsches Versprechen», NZZ 8. April…

Mehr lesen

Perinatale Stammzellforschung: Prof. Breymann im Gespräch bei Famido.ch

20. März 2024

In dieser Episode geht es um die faszinierende Welt der Stammzelllagerung aus Plazenta und Nabelschnur. Prof. Breymann, ein anerkannter Experte auf dem Gebiet der perinatalen Stammzellforschung und Schwangerschaft, diskutiert mit Frau Isabell Ziegler von famido.ch die Schlüsselaspekte dieses Themas. Dabei…

Mehr lesen