Iron Deficiency Anaemia in Pregnancy - Lunchtime Symposium (14 June 2022), with Prof. Breymann

GYN & PERINATAL ZURICH > Iron Deficiency Anemia in Pregnancy - Lunchtime Symposium (June 14, 2022), with Prof. Breymann

Iron is vital for the human body. In particular, iron is essential for the transport of oxygen.

Women have a higher iron requirement than men. During pregnancy, the need for the metal is much higher. This is particularly dangerous for expectant mothers. They need extra blood cells so that the baby and the placenta can grow.

Research shows that one third of pregnant women suffer from iron deficiency. If the deficiency is extreme, those affected suffer from anaemia, because without iron, not enough blood cells can be formed. Iron deficiency must therefore be treated in a targeted manner.

At the Lunchtime Symposium on 14 June 20922 Prof. Breymann (Zurich, Switzerland) and Dr. Rebecka Hansen (Copenhagen, Denmark) will report on the latest findings.

RCOG World Congress: Lunchtime Symposium from 14 June 20922, 13:30 - 14:00 CEST

Lecturer:

  • Prof. Christian Breymann: Foeto-maternal Haematology Unit, University Hospital, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Dr. Rebecka Hansen: Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University Hospital Hvidovre, Copenhagen, Denmark

Ultrasound via smartphone

May 8, 2024

During an ultrasound examination, high-frequency sound waves are sent through the body, which are reflected by tissues and organs as echoes. The sound wave power of ultrasound devices used in obstetrics is so low that they do not cause any short or long-term damage to the body.

Read more

Older age and well-being

April 16, 2024

Older age and well-being (Prof. Breymann comments on NZZ article from April 8, 2024) It is time that the topic of longevity, with all its sometimes obscure developments, was discussed and addressed seriously ("Eternal healthy life is a false promise", NZZ April 8,...

Read more

Perinatal stem cell research: Prof. Breymann in conversation with Famido.ch

March 20, 2024

This episode is about the fascinating world of stem cell storage from the placenta and umbilical cord. Prof. Breymann, a recognized expert in the field of perinatal stem cell research and pregnancy, discusses the key aspects of this topic with Ms. Isabell Ziegler from famido.ch. In doing so...

Read more

Eisenmangelanämie in der Schwangerschaft – Lunchtime Symposium (14. Juni 2022), mit Prof. Breymann

GYN & PERINATAL ZÜRICH > Eisenmangelanämie in der Schwangerschaft – Lunchtime Symposium (14. Juni 2022), mit Prof. Breymann

Eisen ist für den menschlichen Körper lebenswichtig. Insbesondere ist Eisen beim Sauerstofftransport essentiell.

Frauen haben einen höheren Eisenbedarf als Männer. Während der Schwangerschaft ist der Bedarf an dem Metall nochmal sehr viel höher. Besonders gefährlich ist das für werdende Mütter. Denn sie benötigen zusätzliche Blutkörperchen, damit das Baby und die Plazenta wachsen können.

Forschungsergebnisse zeigen, dass ein Drittel der Schwangeren unter Eisenmangel leidet. Ist der Mangel extrem, leiden die Betroffenen unter Blutarmut (Anämie), weil sich ohne Eisen nicht ausreichend Blutzellen bilden können. Den Eisenmangel gilt es daher gezielt zu therapieren.

Am Lunchtime Symposium vom 14. Juni 20922 berichten Prof. Breymann (Zürich, Schweiz) und Dr. Rebecka Hansen (Kopenhagen, Dänemark) über die neusten Erkenntnisse.

RCOG World Congress: Lunchtime Symposium vom 14. Juni 20922, 13:30 – 14:00 CEST

Vortragende:

  • Prof. Christian Breymann: Foeto-maternal Haematology Unit, University Hospital, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Dr. Rebecka Hansen: Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University Hospital Hvidovre, Copenhagen, Denmark

Künstler der Medzin

16. Juni 2022

Prof. Breymann freut sich ausserordentlich, ein Teil der von der Künstlerin Bettina Reichl geschaffenen Portraitserie «Künstler der Medizin» sein zu dürfen. Am 16. Juni 2022 kam es zur langersehnten Weltpremiere, wo die Kunstwerke an der Vernissage ausgestellt wurden. Die Fotos…

Mehr lesen

Eisenmangel und Anämie in der Schwangerschaft und nach der Geburt

10. Juni 2022

In der peripartalen Phase ist Eisenmangel mit oder ohne Anämie ein häufiges Problem und führt zu einer erhöhten mütterlichen und kindlichen Morbidität und Mortalität. Deshalb legen nationale und internationale Richtlinien den Zeitpunkt, die gewünschten Labormesswerte und an die Schwangerschaft angepasste…

Mehr lesen

Potential der perinatalen Stammzellen

1. Juni 2022

Es zeigt sich, dass Stammzellen aus dem Nabelschnurblut aber auch dem Nabelschnurgewebe besonders gut für den Einsatz in der regenerativen Medizin geeignet sind. Schon heute können Knochengewebe, Hautgewebe, Nervengewebe und Herzgewebe durch Stammzellen regeneriert werden. Prof. Breymann beschäftigt sich seit…

Mehr lesen